Beginning of the Journey

I have decided to move to Scotland. There are lots of reasons for this decision, which I’ll get into another time. But the decision has been made. Now comes the hard part, raising the money and working out exactly where I want to go and what I’m going to do when I get there.

Triall Dachaigh - The journey home

Where I want to go is easy: I want to live in the highlands. So I am looking for opportunities along the Great Glen, from Inverness down through Fort Augustus to Fort William. This is not set in stone and may change depending on where the opportunities pop up.

What I’m going to do when I get there is more challenging. I need a way to support myself and pay my own way. I am entitled to an Ancestry Visa, which is helpful because I can stay and work on that visa for 5 years and then apply to stay permanently, which is the plan. But I will need to have a great deal of money behind me when I go so that I can live for a couple of months without work if need be. Which brings me to the next point.

I have no idea how to fund this move. Right now I’m not working. I live in an area where there just isn’t any work. Businesses are going out of business because of lack of money in this area. So that leaves me but one option, and that’s to open an online store to sell Tarot readings and other craft items, such as goddess dolls, that I make. So keep your eyes peeled for that.

Leave a Reply

